2015 Ottawa Conference

The CNMD is hosting the 3rd Ottawa International Conference on Neuromuscular Biology, Disease and Therapy on September 24-26, 2015.  After two previous successful neuromuscular disease conferences in Ottawa, the 2015 conference promises to offer an outstanding program emphasizing recent breakthroughs in basic and translational research and clinical discoveries in neuromuscular disease.

The Conference is structured for both basic researchers and clinicians and will feature internationally-recognized invited speakers highlighting advances in all aspects of NMD research, including novel techniques to diagnose NMD, biology of disease pathogenesis, expanding clinical phenotypes, basic muscle and stem cell biology, and promising therapies to treat these devastating disorders. As in past years, trainees are encouraged to attend and participate – selected abstracts will be featured for platform presentation during the scientific sessions, and all posters are eligible for top poster awards.

Email: OttawaNMD2015@ohri.ca
Twitter: @cnmdOttawa

Ottawa NMD 2015 Poster

Scenic view of Ottawa

Featured Speakers for the Ottawa NMD Conference

Keynote Speaker Dr. Charles Thornton, MD, USA

Carsten Bönnemann, MD, USA

Louis Kunkel, PhD, USA

Bjarne Udd, MD/PhD, Finland

Alex MacKenzie, MD/PhD, Canada

Guy Rouleau, MD/PhD, Canada

Stephan Züchner, MD/PhD, USA

Brian Kaspar, PhD, USA

Michael Benatar, MD/PhD, USA

Pamela Shaw, MBBS/MD, UK

Volker Straub, MD/PhD, UK

Jeffrey Dilworth, PhD, Canada

Bernard Brais, MD/PhD, Canada

Laurent Schaeffer, PhD, France

Kym Boycott, MD/PhD, Canada

Michael Rudnicki, PhD, Canada

Alan Pestronk, MD/PhD, USA

Michael Shy, MD, USA

Hanns Lochmüller, MD/PhD, UK

Gisèle Bonne, PhD, France

Maurice Swanson, PhD, USA

Bernard Jasmin, PhD, Canada

Lubov Timchenko, PhD, USA

Giovanni Meola, MD/PhD, Italy

Christian Lorson, PhD, USA

Charlotte Sumner, MD, USA

Frederic Charbonnier, PhD, France

Jeff Chamberlain, PhD, USA

Elizabeth McNally, MD/PhD, USA

Kevin Campbell, PhD, USA

Richard Lewis, MD, USA

Jean Marc Leger, MD/PhD, France

Emanuela Gussoni, PhD, USA

Fabio Rossi, MD/PhD, Canada

Bradley Olwin, PhD, USA

Amelia Evoli, MD, Italy

Craig Campbell, MD, Canada

Monkol Lek, PhD, USA

Michael Geraghty, MD, Canada

Steven A. Greenberg, MD, USA

Dawn Cornelison, PhD, USA

Eric Shoubridge, PhD, Canada

Scenic view of Ottawa
Scenic view of Ottawa


The Conference is structured for both established and emerging basic scientists and clinicians from a variety of neuromuscular disease disciplines and specialties and features internationally-recognized invited speakers, oral presentations and poster sessions. 

Participants will be able to present their research in a poster format, and several top abstracts will be selected for platform presentations. Authors of top abstracts that are selected for oral presentations will be notified directly by August 28th, 2015. Poster presenters will also be eligible for research poster awards. All participants submitting abstracts must have already registered for the conference.

Early bird registration: August 14th, 2015
Deadline for Abstract submission: August 14th, 2015

Scenic view of Parliament


The Conference will be held at ‘The Westin Ottawa,’ a premier hotel and world-class conference facility.  Ottawa, as the capital of Canada, is a vibrant city offering award-winning museums, a dynamic and culturally diverse downtown and excellent cuisine. Together, they provide an ideal venue to showcase innovative scientific advances and clinical discoveries in diagnosis, pathogenesis and treatment of neuromuscular disorders.

Scenic view of Ottawa


Registration is now open for the Ottawa Neuromuscular Disease Conference!

Register today to take advantage of our early bird registration discount. Full registration fees apply after August 14th, 2015.

Ottawa, Canada
September 24-26, 2015

Scientists, Physicians $450 CAD ($525 CAD after August 14th)
Trainees $350 CAD ($ 425 CAD after August 14th)
(medical and graduate students, residents, post-doctoral fellows)

Submit an abstract

Book your hotel

We are looking forward to welcoming you to Ottawa!
Robin J. Parks PhD, Jodi Warman Chardon MD, Bernard Jasmin PhD, and Rashmi Kothary PhD (Organizing Committee)

Thank you to our sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Back to top