About Us

Picture of David Schramm David Schramm

A Message from the Chair

This has been a very busy year for the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, with many clinical and academic accomplishments. Clinical research, basic science research as well as translational and educational initiatives in our Department have continued to expand. The number of successful research grant applications has steadily grown over the past seven years, with the value of these research grants markedly increasing. Our Department now has over $2.5 million new and continuing clinical, basic science and educational research grants. This year, departmental members published 28 peer-reviewed manuscripts, one book chapter and 29 peer-reviewed abstracts. Nearly all of these abstracts were presented at national and international conferences; members of our Department gave 45 invited guest lectures across North America as well as at international conferences in Beijing, Shanghai, Riyadh and Kuwait.

Congratulations to Lisa Caulley PGY 3 who won first place in the poster competition at the 2015 Canadian Society of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery Annual Meeting for her research on “Direct Costs of Adult Chronic Rhinosinusitis: Results from the US Medical Expenditure Panel Survey”. To build upon our overall research success, our Department will make further investments in research infrastructure this coming year.

Our Department also has many accomplished members. We welcome Maria Brake, who has completed subspecialty training in laryngology at the Queensway- Carleton Hospital. Congratulations to Hedyeh Javidnia who also recently joined the staff of the Queensway- Carleton Hospital and who subspecializes in plastic and reconstructive surgery. Kristian Macdonald, Stephanie Johnson, Hedyeh Javidnia and Lisa Caulley continue to pursue postgraduate training in epidemiology and public health. Hussain Alsaffar has begun postgraduate training in medical education through the University of Dundee.

Our Postgraduate Medical Education Program continues to be in high demand. Once again, we had many outstanding applicants to our residency program and this year welcomed Nicole Lebo and Mark Bastianelli to our program. Our Department wishes to thank our chief residents Kate Kelly and Jeffrey Yeung for all their work over the past year. We congratulate Jeffson Chung, Varant Labajian, Ryan Rourke and Tracey Ross on their successful completion of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery Examinations. A job well done!

Jeffson is now in Edmonton for a Head and Neck Oncology Fellowship and Ryan is in Pittsburgh for a Fellowship in Paediatric Otolaryngology. Varant has started practice in Hawkesbury and Tracey is working in Pembroke and Ottawa. Congratulations also to Faisal Alobaid, who completed an Otology and Neurotology Fellowship with us.

I would particularly like to acknowledge the significant efforts of our departmental members on the development of Strategy 2020. Our five-year strategic plan is aligned with the University of Ottawa’s Destination 2020 as well as the strategic directions of our partner hospitals. Our departmental members serve on many local, national and international committees. Thank you especially to our faculty members who serve on the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery Examination Board.

Our Department is committed to excellence in patient care, research, innovation and medical education. It is an honour for me to be able to serve as Interim Department Chair.

David Schramm MD SM FRCSC FACS

uoCal | Event

There are no results for this content list.

Back to top