Past Recipients

Alumni Awards of Distinction 2016

Rising Star Achievement Award

This Rising Star Achievement Award recognizes an outstanding uOttawa alumnus who has demonstrated professional excellence and exceptional leadership while making significant contributions in health care and medicine. This award serves to honour young alumni with 10 to 20 years of professional experience in their medical specialty.

Recipient: Dr. Ravinder Singh, MD 2001

Dr. Ravinder Singh is a Laparoscopic and Endoscopic Surgeon. He is the Chief of Surgery, and Head of Service, General Surgery at North Bay Regional Health Centre. Dr. Singh has been a member of the Board of Directors for the Ontario Association of General Surgeons since 2015, and was previously the President of the North Bay and District Medical Society. Dr. Singh has also received the Canadian Association of General Surgeons Covidien Surgical Leadership Fellowship Award, as well as the Resident Award for Teaching Excellence from the Canadian Association of General Surgeons.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award serves to honour alumni who have accomplished a lifetime of significant contributions and achievement in health care and medicine. This award is presented to an alumnus or alumna who is recognized as a leader in their respective field, has demonstrated professional excellence and dedication to their community.

Recipient: Dr. Yvon Lapierre, MD 1961

After completing his classical studies at Le Collège Saint-Jean in Edmonton, Dr. Lapierre began his studies at the University of Ottawa, earning his BA in 1957 and his MD in 1961. He then completed his specialty training in Psychiatry at l’Université de Montréal before joining the uOttawa Faculty of Medicine as Lecturer in 1970. He became Assistant Professor in 1973, Associate Professor in 1976 and Full Professor in 1981. During his tenure at the University of Ottawa, he held a cross appointment in the Departments of Pharmacology and Cellular and Molecular Medicine, as well as an Adjunct Professorship in Psychiatry at Queen's University.

In 1986, Dr. Lapierre became Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Psychiatrist-in-Chief at the Royal Ottawa Hospital. He received the Faculty Award of Excellence in 1994, a measure of recognition of which he was always tremendously proud. While he received many honours elsewhere, he always felt that the honour given to him by his faculty colleagues was the most rewarding. Dr. Lapierre retired in May 2000.

Dr. Raymond Leblanc (2013)

Dr. Raymond Leblanc graduated from the University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine in 1963.  He celebrated his 50th anniversary of graduation at the Faculty’s Homecoming weekend in 2013 where he was presented with the Alumni Achievement Award.

Dr. LeBlanc recently retired after a long and distinguished career specializing in ophthalmology. He completed his specialty training in the United States and came back to Canada in 1970 to practice in Montreal and Sherbrooke. In 1979, he moved to Halifax and became Head of the Department of Ophthalmology at Dalhousie University and Chief of Ophthalmology at the Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre.

Since 2007, he served as Vice-President Research and Academic Affairs, Capital District Health Authority Halifax. He is renowned both nationally and internationally for his work as leader of the Dalhousie Glaucoma Research Team. Over the past decade, Dr. LeBlanc has been very active in spearheading initiatives to develop new models of vision care both provincially and nationally. He chaired the National Coalition for Vision Health from 1999 to 2004, is a past president of the Canadian Ophthalmological Society, the Canadian Glaucoma Society and has been a board member of a number of international glaucoma societies. In 2005, he was awarded the Order of Canada.

His major research interests are in the clinical investigation of glaucoma. Dr. Leblanc published widely and has presented internationally with major publications in the field of perimetry, particularly with regards to detecting early changes in glaucoma. Dr. Leblanc provided leadership in the development of the new Eye Care Centre, which recently opened in the Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre in Halifax and helped to develop a new major basic research laboratory in vision in the Faculty of Medicine at Dalhousie University, grouping five basic scientists from four different departments.

Jean L. Rouleau (2012)

During the seventh annual Homecoming Weekend, Dr. Jean L. Rouleau was honoured with the 2012 Alumni Achievement Award. An MD 1974 graduate (cum laude), Dr. Rouleau went on to receive his FRCPC training in internal medicine and cardiology at McGill University. Within the field of medicine, Dr. Rouleau has made an outstanding name for himself as an accomplished clinical cardiologist, a beloved professor and an impressive researcher.

Back to top