Alumni Association Awards of Excellence recognizes Faculty of Medicine leaders

Posted on Thursday, May 20, 2021


This June 10, join the University of Ottawa in celebrating the recipients of the 2020 and 2021 Alumni Association Awards of Excellence, including five members from the Faculty of Medicine.


Register now for the University of Ottawa Alumni Association Awards of Excellence and get to know the all winners for 2020 and 2021.

This virtual event is open to everyone and will entertain, inspire and bring us all together.

The specific winners listed below are from the Faculty of Medicine. 

Meritas Tabaret Award for Alumni Achievement

Recognizing alumni who have distinguished themselves through excellence and achievement in their professional field throughout their career; have demonstrated leadership in their profession; have made a positive contribution to the prestige, influence and reputation of the University of Ottawa; and have exercised and continue to exercise a strong positive influence in the community.

2021 recipient: Dr. Noni MacDonald (MSc ’71, MD ’75) | Faculty of Medicine

2020 recipient: Dr. John Jack Kitts (MD ’80, EMBA ’01) | Faculty of Medicine and Telfer School of Management

Alumnus/Alumna of the Year Award

Recognizing outstanding achievement by one of our members over the past year.

2020 recipient: Dr. Rob S.B. Beanlands (MD ’83) | Faculty of Medicine

Honorary Member of the Alumni Association

Recognizing a person who is not a graduate of the University, but whose actions and dedication have had a beneficial impact on the  uOttawa student experience.

2021 recipient: Dr. Sharon Whiting (MBBS, FRCPC) | Vice-Dean, Faculty Affairs at uOttawa Faculty of Medicine

2020 recipient: Dr. Robert G. Korneluk (BSc, MSc, Ph.D.) | Professor, uOttawa Faculty of Medicine, Senior Scientist at CHEO Research Institute, Member of the Order of Canada

Alumni Awards of Excellence


Back to top