Applying for a faculty position? Get to know the Faculty’s Appointments Advisory Committee

Front view of Roger Guindon Hall

At the uOttawa Faculty of Medicine, we pride ourselves on the quality of education we provide to our learners and the research we conduct. This wouldn’t be possible without our stellar faculty members who make up one of the top Faculty of Medicine (FoM) teaching and research teams in Canada. To ensure we are recruiting only the best in academic medicine, we rely on the hard work of our Faculty Appointments Advisory Committee (FAAC), which falls within the Faculty Affairs portfolio.

This committee was established in 2013 to ensure a transparent and consistent process for the appointment of faculty members. Since then, it has reviewed all applications from clinicians or clinician scientists (MD or PhD) for the roles of lecturer or professor (assistant, associate, or full).

All applications go through a thorough assessment process by the FAAC before appointment recommendations are made to the Dean. The FAAC is a separate committee from the Faculty’s Promotions Committee, which reviews the applications of current faculty members seeking promotion. It is also separate from the Faculty Teaching Personnel Committee (FTPC), which review applications for appointment to a basic science department.

Chaired by Dr. Jean Michaud from 2013 to 2017, Dr. Nathalie Fleming now steers the FAAC.  She describes the group as very hardworking, committed, and dedicated to a fair process, ensuring that every application is carefully considered. Dr. Fleming also credits FAAC’s clear guidelines for helping to make this advisory role straightforward.

Reviewing roughly 15-20 applications per month, the FAAC has examined over 1100 applications since its inception. Its busiest year was 2017-2018 with 266 applications. With one month remaining in the 2018-2019 period, 193 applications have been reviewed so far.

Overall, 100% of MD and PhD seeking an appointment to a clinical department were approved. 91.1% of applications received have been approved at the initial proposed rank. Within the 8.9% that have been deferred or denied at initial rank, 38% were granted the initial rank once additional information was submitted by the candidate.

*The number of applications for June are not yet included in the 2018-2019 total.


If you are a faculty member interested in taking part in this committee, please be in touch with Dr. Nathalie Fleming ( or for more information. For those looking for more information on the Faculty application process, visit the Academic appointment webpage.


Current FAAC membership

Nathalie Fleming, Chair FAAC

Sharon Whiting, Vice Dean, Faculty Affairs (ex-officio)

Kayla Hébert-Desnoyers, Coordinator, Faculty Affairs (ex-officio)

Dianne Delva, Chair, Department of Family Medicine

Ciarán Duffy, Chair, Department of Pediatrics

Guy Hébert, Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine

Johnna MacCormick, Department of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery

Donna Maziak, Department of Surgery

Anne McCarthy, Department of Medicine

Julie Shaw, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

William Splinter, Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine

Michèle Tremblay, Department of Psychiatry


Dr. Fleming, Chair of the FAAC.

Dr. Nathalie Fleming has been the Chair of FAAC since 2017. (Photo: CHEO Media House)


Back to top