Congrats to uOttawa’s Mona Nemer and Katey Rayner on receiving 2018 CSMB Scholarly Awards

uOttawa Faculty of Medicine’s building.

Two leading uOttawa Faculty of Medicine researchers have received a 2018 Scholarly Award from the Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences (CSMB).

The CSMB New Investigator Award has been presented to Dr. Katey Rayner, Assistant Professor, University of Ottawa Heart Institute and Department of Biochemistry, to recognize outstanding research in one or more of the fields of biochemistry, molecular or cellular biology in not more than the first ten years as an independent investigator.

The Arthur Wynne Gold medal has two recipients this year:  Dr. Mona Nemer, Director of the Molecular Cardiology Unit, University of Ottawa, and Chief Science Advisor, Government of Canada;  and Dr. Jim Woodgett, Professor of Medical Biophysics and Director of the Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, University of Toronto. 

This award honors an individual who has made a major contribution to biochemistry, molecular and cell biology in Canada over their career. The recipient of this life-time achievement award typically has attained an international profile in research, has played a major role in the development and promotion of the discipline in Canada, and has a long-standing record of service to the academic community.

There is a total of four CSMB Scholarly Award winners this year, and all will present talks at the 61st CSMB Annual Conference, Membrane Proteins in health and disease, which will be held in Banff, April 11-15. For biographies and photos of the four awardees, visit the CSMB official website.

Photos of Dr. Mona Nemer and Dr. Katey Rayner.


Back to top