Faculty of Medicine, along with its affiliated research institutes, awarded $15M in the CIHR Project Grant Competition

The exterior of Roger Guindon Hall

The Faculty of Medicine and its affiliated research institutes had an outstanding 15% success rate.

Congratulations to all of our members on their recent success with their CIHR Project Grant funding.  Overall, the Faculty of Medicine and its affiliated research institutes had an outstanding 15% success rate, and a 43% success rate among the new faculty/institute APUO recruits.

CIHR funds innovative health research for the benefit of all Canadians, and the Faculty of Medicine continues to shine in its enviable position as a leading research-intensive institution.

Congratulations to the 22 research groups on behalf of the entire Faculty!

  • Marceline Côté. Deciphering the entry pathway of the Ebola and Marburg viruses
  • Seung-Hwan Lee. IL-18: A key cytokine linking metabolism to immunity in natural killer and CD8 T cells
  • Michele Ardolino. The checkpoint receptor PD-1 inhibits Natural Killer cell responses to cancer
  • Richard Bergeron. Glycine Transporter Blockade and Neuroprotection
  • Marjorie C. Brand. Deciphering the molecular mechanism of acquired resistance in leukemia
  • Jamie C. Brehaut, Christopher McCudden and Justin Presseau (PIs); Sylvain Boet, Heather Colquhoun, Alan J. Forster, Jeremy M. Grimshaw, Noah M. Ivers, Lauralyn A. Mcintyre, Monica Taljaard, Kednapa Thavorn. Enabling Multi-site, Tailored Feedback Interventions to Reduce Low-Value Test Ordering in Critical Care: A Systematic Approach
  • Kevin D. Burns (PI); David S. Allan, Dylan E. Burger, Dean A. Fergusson. Endothelial Progenitor Cell Exosomes and MicroRNA Transfer as Therapy for Acute Kidney Injury
  • Antonio Colavita (PI); C. elegans ventral nerve cord (VNC) assembly as a model for neural tube formation and pathology
  • Jean-Simon Diallo (PI); Rozanne P. Arulanandam, Fanny Tzelepis. Development of Viral Sensitizing Antibody Drug Conjugate and Oncolytic virus Combination Regimens for the Treatment of Breast Cancer
  • Brian Hutton, Martin Y. Desrosiers and Shaun Kilty (PIs); James P. Bonaparte, Dean A. Fergusson, David Moher, Adrienne L. Stevens, Dianna M. Wolfe. Updating Needs and Network Meta-analyses for the Canadian Guidelines for Chronic Rhinosinusitis
  • Rashmi Kothary. Immune System Dysfunction in Spinal Muscular Atrophy
  • Baptiste Lacoste. Role of cerebrovascular abnormalities in the pathophysiology of autism spectrum disorders
  • Guillaume Martel (PI); François M. Carrier, Michael Chasse, Yves Collin, Dean A. Fergusson, Timothy O. Ramsay, Alan T. Tinmouth, Franck Vandenbroucke-Menu, Christopher Wherrett. PRICE 2: A phase 3 randomized controlled trial of phlebotomy resulting in controlled hypovolemia to prevent blood loss in major hepatic resections
  • Smita Pakhale and Elspeth McKay (PIs); Kim Barker, Ted Bignell, Mark J. Eisenberg, Lindsay Kretschmer, Petrina Perrin, Peter L. Selby, Kednapa Thavorn, Victor Willis. A Community-Based Participatory Action Pragmatic Randomized Controlled Trial using Electronic-Cigarette for Tobacco Dependence in the Low Income Population with a holistic approach
  • Peter Tugwell and Howard White (PIs); Pauline Campbell, Stephanie Chang, Thomas Concannon, Leonila F. Dans, Davina Ghersi, Ian D. Graham, Janet E. Jull, Lara Maxwell, Richard F. Morley, Reem A. Mustafa, Jennifer Petkovic, Alex Pollock, Kevin Pottie, Holger J. Schunemann, Anneliese Synnot, Vivian A. Welch. Stakeholder Engagement in Guideline Development
  • Barbara C. Vanderhyden (PI); Rebecca Ann C. Auer. Enhancing ovarian cancer immunogenicity by increasing antitumoral responses using engineered oncolytic vaccines
  • Jing Wang. Understanding molecular control of lipid metabolism in brain aging
  • Dhenuka K. Radhakrishnan and Francine M. Ducharme (PIs); Nicholas J. Barrowman, Eric I. Benchimol, Dominic Chalut, Jocelyn Gravel, Patricia T. Li, Naveen Poonai, Roger Zemek. Derivation of a clinical score to predict risk of future emergency department visits and hospitalizations among children with asthma
  • Thomas A. Lagace. Regulation of the PCSK9 binding interaction with LDL receptor
  • Erin Mulvihill. Glucose Lowering in T2DM: Mechanism of Action of Dipeptidyl Peptidase 4 Inhibitors
  • Mireille Ouimet. Lipophagy in Reverse Cholesterol Transport
  • Atul Verma and David H. Birnie (PIs); Douglas A. Coyle, Vidal Essebag, Andrew C. Ha, Jeff S. Healey, Michael D. Hill, Mukul Sharma, George A. Wells, D. George Wyse. The Optimal Anticoagulation for Enhanced Risk Patients Post-Catheter Ablation for Atrial Fibrillation (OCEAN) Trial
Fluid being dripped into a petri dish.


Back to top