uOttawa Faculty and Learners Earn PARO Awards for Leadership in Medical Education

Six medical learners standing in a surgical suite.

The PARO Awards recognize leaders who enhance the learner experience.

Four individuals from the Faculty of Medicine have been honoured with 2017 PARO Awards for their leadership in medical education.

PARO, the Professional Association of Residents of Ontario, addresses the professional and educational concerns of doctors-in-training to optimize their working and training experience. Each year, the PARO Awards honour those recognized as leaders in the mission to support and engage medical residents and students.

Residents from the six medical schools in Ontario are invited to submit their nominations for those individuals demonstrating the qualities sought within each category.

PARO’s 2017 Award recipients from the University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine are:

  • Dr. Jason McVicar - Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine
    • Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award
    • Acknowledges “the essential role that good teachers play in the training of physicians…including patient care, quality of bedside teaching, and interest in the trainees’ personal development and well-being.”
  • Ms. Tracy Mitchell - Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
    • Lois H. Ross Resident Advocate Award
    • Recognizes an individual “who consistently advocates on behalf of residents and resident issues, within their role as an administrator, program coordinator, teacher or clinician.”
  • Dr. Andrew Chung - PGY 5, Department of Diagnostic Radiology
    • Resident Teaching Award
    • Honours “residents who have provided outstanding clinical teaching experiences to junior housestaff and clinical clerks.”
  • Ms. Emilie Deschner - MD student
    • Citizen Award for Medical Students
    • Recognizes “medical students, who, in addition to maintaining an adequate academic standing, have made a significant contribution towards improving the general welfare of fellow medical students.”

The Faculty congratulates these leaders in medical education and thanks them for their outstanding contributions to the learner experience.

Exterior of Roger Guindon Hall on a summer day.

Four individuals from the Faculty of Medicine have been honoured with 2017 PARO Awards.


Back to top