Graduates from the Civic Unit in 2019

Welcome to the University of Ottawa Department of Family Medicine

As an accredited Residency Program, our Department is a leader in primary care research and education. With a faculty of over 500 and a dedicated administrative team, we offer a wide range of teaching programs in both urban and rural settings. Our programs are delivered in both official languages, including a francophone stream at the Montfort Hospital.

We take pride in our track record as a leader in rigorous, relevant and innovative primary care health services and educational research. Our residents and faculty are engaged in scholarship and research that advances the quality and delivery of primary care for all Canadians. We support faculty with grants for research and innovation in Medical Education, resulting in increased leadership nationally and internationally.

Just as our discipline is patient-centered, our program is learner-centered. We have implemented the Triple C competency-based curriculum to ensure that our students and residents are equipped to meet the needs of patients and society. The program is designed to ensure comprehensive continuity of education and patient care, centered in family medicine. This includes our responsibilities to vulnerable populations supported by the Global Health program with attention to urban, rural and remote and international communities. Our third-year programs offer opportunities for residents to tailor their training to their professional goals.

We welcome you to explore the website and learn more about us. Please do not hesitate to contact us with your questions and ideas.

Our Past Chairs

  • Dr. John Day, 1968-1970
  • Dr. John Last, 1970-1975
  • Dr. Campbell T. Lamont, 1975-1981
  • Dr. Walter Rosser, 1981-1986
  • Dr. John Forster, 1986-1995
  • Dr. Nick Busing, 1996-2005
  • Dr. Jacques Lemelin, 2005-2012
  • Dr. Michael Hirsh (Interim), 2012-2014
  • Dr. Dianne Delva, 2014-2019
Back to top