Teaching Skills Attainment Awards: Have your training as a medical educator recognized!

Posted on Thursday, September 10, 2020

Why not have your training in medical education recognized through the Teaching Skills Attainment Award (TSAA) program? The TSAA application deadline is September 30, 2020. The Department of Family Medicine has many celebrated medical educators: since 2007, one quarter (32 of the 129) of TSAAs awarded in the whole Faculty of Medicine have been granted to Family Medicine faculty.

Join the ranks of skilled clinician teachers who have already received one or more TSAAs including Drs. Isabel Burnier, Safaa El Bialy, Alison Eyre, Carol Geller, Margaret Gluszynski, Martha Holt, Mary Johnston, Lara Kent, Frances Kilbertus, Katherine Lariviere, Kay Lee, Angela Laughton, Stephanie Malherbe, Susanne McKim, Alan Ng, Eoghan O’Shea, David Ponka, Parisa Rezaiefar, Sarah Rice, Millaray Sanchez-Campos, Jolanda Turley, Gary Viner, Richard Waldolf, Megan Williams, Eric Wooltorton and Deidre Young. 

By participating in only 30 hours of faculty development (FD) focused on improving how you teach, you could qualify for at least the first level of the uOttawa TSAA program.

Many courses and workshops offered at DFM qualify for TSAA credits. For example, the Faculty Development Half Days, Essential Teaching Skills Courses, and some workshops in Curriculum Review Advisory Groups and from the annual DFM retreat, Family Medicine Forum, and Meredith Marks Day could all qualify. The final decision rests with the TSAA committee. You receive 1 credit per hour of presentation you attend, 2 credits per hour of presentation you give.

If you give a repeat presentation (i.e. giving the same workshop twice or more) applicants are granted credit a maximum of twice (the TSAA committee assumes you modify your presentation based on feedback the second time the program is offered).

Please note that not all continuing professional or personal development or leadership courses qualify – the awards recognize training in how to be a better medical teacher, not a better clinician or leader. Note that formal training as part of another certificate (e.g. MEd) is not eligible.

The TSAAs have progressive requirements:

  • Level 1: requires 30 credits 
  • Level 2: “TSAA Merit Award” requires 80 credits and Plus applicants to present FD sessions.
  • Level 3: “TSAA with Distinction” requires 130 credits and educators to disseminate their work.

Your TSAA submission will have three parts:

  1. The application form (Review all the submission information on the uOttawa website).
  2. A table of the workshops attended or presented (see DFM table). Note you can add to, adapt and modify and use this table as a starting template.
  3. Appendices with supporting documents (proof of attendance such as Mainpro+ credit sheets, or copies of attendance sheets. If you gave a presentation consider documents related to the course content or slides)

Final decisions about what is eligible or not rest with the TSAA committee and you may be asked to clarify parts of your package. Awardees will be announced in early 2021.For support for your application (including proof of attendance support) contact the DFM Faculty Development team, including Rebecca Celestin or Faculty Development Director, Dr. Eric Wooltorton.

The TSAA application deadline is September 30, 2020.
Back to top