Electives

Visiting Resident Physicians Electives

Given the fluidity of the COVID-19 situation, we will continue to monitor and adhere to the standards set by Ottawa Public Health (OPH).  In case electives need to be cancelled due to changes in direction from OPH, we recommend that you do not make any travel or accommodation arrangements until closer to the start date of your rotation. 

As PGME offices can not predict or guarantee that there will be not be last minute rotation cancellations due to COVID-19 related events, it is incumbent upon visiting residents to be aware the uOttawa cannot compensate trainees for expenses related to rotation cancellations as a result of COVID-19 directives.

Please note that a self-isolation period may be required before entry into any of the hospitals within the Ottawa region. It will be your responsibility to verify this requirement with the program you are going to, and with the hospital’s occupational health services prior to arranging your travel and accommodations.

Thank you for your understanding and attention in this important matter.


The University of Ottawa offers elective opportunities to residents and fellows who:

  • Apply at least two months prior to the elective start date
BLOCK STARTS ON APPLY BEFORE
1 Wednesday, July 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
2 Tuesday, July 28, 2020 May 28, 2020
3 Tuesday, August 25, 2020 June 25, 2020
4 Tuesday, September 22, 2020 July 22, 2020
5 Tuesday, October 20, 2020 August 20, 2020
6 Tuesday, November 17, 2019 September 17, 2020
7 Tuesday, December 15, 2020 October 15, 2020
8 Tuesday, January 12, 2021 November 12, 2020
9 Tuesday, February 9, 2021 December 9, 2020
10 Tuesday, March 9, 2020 January 9, 2021
11 Tuesday, April 6, 2021 February 6, 2021
12 Tuesday, May 4, 2021 March 4, 2021
13 Tuesday, June 1, 2021 April 1, 2021

 

  • Are Canadian or a permanent resident currently registered in a recognized postgraduate medical education program in Canada or the U.S.
  • Apply for an Educational Certificate of Registration from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) 2 months prior to the elective start date

Electives must not exceed six (6) months in duration.

uoCal | Events

Back to top