Areas of Focused Competence (AFC)

The Faculty of Medicine at uOttawa currently offers a variety of Areas of Focused Competence (AFC) programs.

What is the AFC program?

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada defines an AFC program as: 

‘a highly specialized discipline of specialty medicine that addresses a legitimate societal need, but does not meet the Royal College criteria for a specialty, foundation program or subspecialty. Normally, AFC diplomas represent either a) supplemental competencies that enhance the practice of physicians in an existing discipline, or b) a highly specific and narrow scope of practice that does not meet the criteria of a subspecialty. In both scenarios, the AFC program does not prepare a physician for practice, but rather recognizes areas of supplemental or advanced training.’ 

Format of the diploma 

  • typically one-to-two years of additional, competency-based training
  • built upon training in a broader discipline
  • supported within the existing specialty committee of the primary discipline (unless one does not currently exist)
  • assessed through summative portfolio
  • training programs accredited by the Royal College (C Standards)
  • a separate annual dues fee and Maintenance of Certificate (MOC) requirements 

Candidates successfully completing all requirements of an approved AFC program will receive an added qualification known as a Diploma of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or DRCPSC. Members with a DRCPSC will be known nationally and internationally as individuals who have sought to advance their knowledge and expertise with additional complementary skills and competencies. 

Please refer to the fellowship section for information on how to apply.

Back to top