Message from the Chair


Kathleen Pajer, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor and Chair
Department of Psychiatry, uOttawa FOM

Message from the chair

Welcome to the website for the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine. I am pleased to have started my new job as Department Chair on July 1, 2017. Our Department members provide a broad range of mental health care services across the life span. We have 230 faculty members distributed across 6 sites throughout Ottawa and in Brockville, ON.

This year, we will be training over 250 undergraduate medical students and 68 PGY 1-5 residents, as well as sub-specialty residents in Child and Adolescent and in Forensic Psychiatry. New leaders in several of the education programs are driving innovative changes in how we currently teach and how we will teach in the future, including planning for competency by design and new training of clinician scientists.

The Department includes faculty in research institutes located at four of our sites and in the University of Ottawa Brain and Mind Institute. This infrastructure has contributed to the doubling of research revenue for mental health work in the past five years and a dramatic increase in our scholarly productivity. Active mentoring of junior faculty to achieve academic success is a high priority to further enhance our research productivity.

This is an ideal time to become Chair because the previous Psychiatry Department Strategic Plan has expired. Over the next few months, we will be collecting data for the new Strategic Plan which will be released early in 2018.

In the meantime, please browse our current website, whether you are a student, resident, or potential colleague. If you cannot find something, or if you have any comments, please contact my office.

Past Department Chairs:

  • Dr. Katharine Gillis
  • Dr. Jacques Bradwejn
  • Dr. Yvon Lapierre
Back to top