The Department of Radiology is home to the Divisions of Radiation Oncology and Medical Physics.

The Division of Radiation Oncology comprises 21 Radiation Oncologists, all of whom have staff appointments at The Ottawa Hospital.   The Division provides all radiation oncology services within the Champlain Local Health Integration Network, with a population of 1.3 million.   The Division has a leading role in conducting local, national, and international clinical trials in association with the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute. The Division also fulfills its academic role through undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing medical education activities.

The Division of Medical Physics includes 24 scientists who work with their physician colleagues to advance patient care through research and innovation in the fields of medical imaging and radiation therapy.   The Division has active research in applications of Virtual Reality in medical imaging, radiation therapy planning and delivery, and novel strategies in magnetic resonance imaging.   The group offers a CAMPEP accredited medical physics residency program in radiation oncology physics at The Ottawa Hospital.

Back to top