Message from Department of Radiology, Radiation Oncology and Medical Physics

Posted on Friday, February 25, 2022

Message from the Chair

Dear Colleagues,

I’m delighted to announce that after stakeholder engagement, and discussions at University, divisional and sectional level the University Department (formerly known as the Department of Radiology- hope some of you oldies get the musical reference) has been given the green light to rebrand as the Department of Radiology, Radiation Oncology and Medical Physics. You will recall that through our strategic planning exercise it emerged that their was a perception that the prior title did not address all constituents of the Department. The name change is more than symbolic and represents a genuine move towards inclusivity that I hope will be reinforced over the coming years. Within the University Department, we have the existing Departments of Medical Imaging (or radiology depending on the institution) TOH, CHEO and Montfort, the Division of Radiation oncology and Medical Physics. I hope that you will proudly embrace the new title when presenting atconferences or publishing.

Writing of changes, I wanted to wish Amanda Barqueiro all the best as she transitions to a position at the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Ottawa. I’m certain that every member of the Department has benefitted from Amanda’s encyclopedic institutional knowledge, her IT solving abilities, her excellent organization and perpetual desire to assist. I hope each of you will take the time to send Amanda a short note expressing your gratitude to her for the 9 years of service to the Department. Many thanks Amanda!

We have recently completed the 12th Annual Ottawa Radiology Review Course which had record attendances this year on our new EventsAIR platform. As expected, a high quality curriculum was seamlessly delivered again this year. A big thank you to Vanessa Manning and Alvy Catap from our CME team for their outstanding management of the course, both prior to and during the course. Thanks to co-course directors Drs. Andrew Scott-Moncrieff, Zaid Jibri and Akshat Gotra and to section leads Drs. Steve Ryan, Nader Zakhari, Marcos Sampaio, Elena Pena, Nishard Abdeen, Demetri Papadatos and Jackie Lau. My gratitude extends also to the many contributors to the Mock oral and ORCE examinations and hot seats.

We are expanding our on demand CME content within the broader Department and I have spoken with many of you already inviting you to record any talks you give at any events/ conferences and send to our CME office for consideration of inclusion into the on demand content. I welcome any members of the Department who wish to glean and synthesize content as course directors. This will provide an opportunity to gain national and international recognition for course creation and educational leadership, critical for promotion to Associate and Full Professor level. Please speak with the CME team,, for any ideas you may have. Lastly, I would like to invite contributions to the “Friday thought” email that I try circulating weekly. These should be reflective, inspirational and strategically aligned. We have many talented individuals in our Department and it would be great to hear from you. These can be sent directly to me.

Regards, Richard

Back to top