Prizes and Awards


In uOttawa’s bid to increase its research intensity and international recognition, research and teaching prizes and awards are becoming more and more important.  Awards such as these promote a culture of research excellence and raises the visibility and profile of the institution and researchers on the national and international scene.  Gaining this recognition strengthens the appeal of uOttawa as a first-class institution for study and research and encourages careers in research/academia.

The Faculty of Medicine Research Office staff provides assistance to investigators, research teams and educators in identifying relevant awards and prizes and preparing applications, as well as coordinating nominations with key stakeholders within and external to the University.

For a list of past award recipients, click here

For more information on the services provided by the Faculty for prizes and awards, please contact:

Dr. Chris Kennedy
Director of Awards and Prizes for Excellence in Education and Research

613-562-5800 x 8529

Ms. Mélanie Rioux
Research Grants & Awards Officer
613-562-5800 x 8509

Upcoming awards

Baillet Latour Health Prize - Metabolic Disorders

This personal award is granted every year for outstanding achievements in biomedical research for the benefit of human health. The theme for 2020 is Metabolic Disorders and the current value of the prize is 250,000 euros.

Deadline: September 30, 2019

Canada Gairdner Awards

The Canada Gairdner Awards recognize the world’s most creative and accomplished biomedical scientists who are advancing humanity and the world. Annually, seven awards are given: five Canada Gairdner International Awards for biomedical research, the John Dirks Canada Gairdner Global Health Award, specifically for impact on global health issues, and the Canada Gairdner Wightman Award, reserved for a Canadian scientist showcasing scientific excellence and leadership..

Deadline: October 1, 2019

Ontario Early Researcher Award

The Early Researcher Awards program helps promising, recently-appointed Ontario Researchers build their research teams of undergraduate, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, research assistants, associates and technicians.

Deadline: October 10, 2019

Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences Awards

Each year the CSMB offers multiple awards to recognize excellence in research and demonstration of leadership in the areas of biochemistry, cell biology or genetics.

Deadline: October 31, 2019

NSERC Awards for Science Promotion

The NSERC Awards for Science Promotion focus on people and groups who are inspirational in the way they promote science to the general public.

Deadline: November 25, 2019

Canadian Medical Association Awards

The CMA Awards recognize the dedication, successes and talents of Canadians who are making significant contributions to our health and health care. Each year, several awards are offered in various areas.

Deadline: November 30, 2019

Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society of Canada recognizes leaders in research and innovation and mobilizes them in open discussion and debate about complex and timely issues. Fellows elected to the RSC are those with exceptional and original publications, intellectual achievements and creative activities. Early-career researchers can be elected into the RSC College of new Scholars, Artists and Scientists.

Deadline: December 1, 2019

University of Ottawa Young Researcher of the Year Award

The Young Researcher of the Year Award is presented annually to faculty members who have made exceptional contributions to research at the University of Ottawa.To be admissible, the researcher must hold a full-time tenured or tenure-track position at the university or a regular position at an affiliated institute. At the time of nomination, the nominee should have completed at least two years, but no more than seven years in this position.Each award is accompanied by a bursary of $10,000 to go towards the remuneration of a graduate student supervised by the recipient.

Deadline: December 10, 2019

University of Ottawa Award for Excellence in Research (APUO)

The objective of the award is to focus attention on research at the University of Ottawa by recognizing annually two members of its teaching staff who have earned distinction for themselves and for the University as a result of the importance and exceptional characteristics of their research work.

Deadline: December 15, 2019




Back to top