Prizes and Awards


In uOttawa’s bid to increase its research intensity and international recognition, research and teaching prizes and awards are becoming more and more important.  Awards such as these promote a culture of research excellence and raises the visibility and profile of the institution and researchers on the national and international scene.  Gaining this recognition strengthens the appeal of uOttawa as a first-class institution for study and research and encourages careers in research/academia.

The Faculty of Medicine Research Office staff provides assistance to investigators, research teams and educators in identifying relevant awards and prizes and preparing applications, as well as coordinating nominations with key stakeholders within and external to the University.

For a list of past award recipients, click here

For more information on the services provided by the Faculty for prizes and awards, please contact:

Dr. Chris Kennedy
Director, Awards and Prizes for Excellence in Education and Research
613-562-5800 x 8529

Ms. Mélanie Rioux
Research Advisor
613-562-5800 x 8509

Upcoming awards

American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellowships

Submission deadline - April 28, 2021

Only members of the AAAS may be nominated for Fellowship. Areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public.


J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine

Submission deadline - TDB (usually by May)

The award is given to an individual or individuals who have made significant contributions to a field of basic or clinical research in one of the Institute's principal areas of research such as medical imaging, cellular and molecular biology, genomics, immunology and stem cell biology. Each year a topic is selected and the scientific community is invited to nominate individual scientists or groups of scientists whose initiatives fall within that particular field of research.


Prince Mahidol Award

Submission deadline - May 31, 2021

Two Prince Mahidol Awards are attribute yearly to individual(s) or institution(s), who have demonstrated outstanding and exemplary contributions to the advancement of the world’s medical and public health services.


L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science International Awards

Submission deadline - TBD (usually by May 31)

These awards recognize eminent women in science throughout the world. This year, award will be recognizing laureates for their contributions to the advancement of science in the broad field of Life Sciences., each working in one of the following regions: Africa and the Arab States, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, North America.


NSERC Arthur B. McDonald Fellowships

Submission deadline - TBD

Recognize early-stage academic researchers in the natural sciences and engineering and support them to enhance their research capacity.


The Society for Neurosciences

Submission deadline - different awards due May 29th to June 12th

The SfN awards annually more than 20 awards, including: Awards recognizing individuals dedicated to women's advancement in neuroscience through mentorship; Young investigator awards; Awards for education and training and a career award.


Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

Submission deadline - June 14, 2021

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Laureates are Canadian citizens whose outstanding leadership and contributions to medicine and the health sciences, in Canada or abroad, have led to extraordinary improvements in human health.


Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology

Submission deadline - June 15, 2021

Awarded annually to one young scientist (no older than 35 years, 10 years post-degree) for the most outstanding neurobiological research based on methods of molecular and cell biology conducted by him/her during the past three years.


Health Research Foundation Medal of Honour

Submission deadline - TBD (usually June 25)

Awarded to remarkable individuals whose research or contributions to public policies supportive of research and development in Canada have achieved international recognition.


The Steacie Prize

Submission deadline - TBD (usually June 30)

Presented once a year to a scientist or engineer of 40 years of age or less for outstanding scientific research carried out in Canada.


BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards

Submission deadline - June 30, 2021

Recognize fundamental contributions in Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics), Biology and Biomedicine, Information and Communication Technologies, Ecology and Conservation Biology, Climate Change, Economics, Finance and Management, Humanities and Social Sciences, Music and Opera.


Killam Prizes

Submission deadline - TBD (usually June 30)

The Killam Prizes are awarded to active Canadian Scholars who have distinguished themselves through sustained excellence, making a significant impact in their respective fields in the humanities, social sciences, health sciences, natural science and engineering.


Clara Benson Award

Submission deadline - July 1, 2021

This award from the Canadian Society for Chemistry is presented to a woman who has made a distinguished contribution to chemistry while working in Canada.


Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation

Submission deadline - TBD (usually July 3)

The CSCI awards annually four prizes for significant contributions to biomedical or related research, including a new investigator award (10 years since first appointment) and a distinguished scientist award.


Royal-Mach-Gaensslen Prize for Mental Health Research

Submission deadline - TBD (usually July 15)

In partnership with the Royal’s Institute of Mental Health Research, this award recognizes an outstanding Canadian early-career researcher (45 years of age or younger) working in an area of mental health.


The FCCP Education Foundation Award of Merit

Submission deadline - TBD (usually August 15)

The Federation of Chinese Canadian Professionals Education Foundation Award of Merit has been given annually to distinguished Chinese Canadians with outstanding professional achievements.


Prix Galien Canada Research

Submission deadline - TBD

The Prix Galien annually rewards recent therapeutic innovations made available to the public as well as research work carried out in Canada. This prestigious distinction is considered the Nobel Prize for biopharmaceutical research. The Prix Galien Canada Research will be awarded to an individual or team that has been working in research for at least five years and has made a significant contribution to the diagnosis, prevention or treatment of diseases.


Committee members


Christopher Kennedy



Baptiste Lacoste (CMM)

Patrick Giguère (BMI)

Melissa Brouwers (SEPH)

Vicki LeBlanc (DIME)


Miriam Mottiar (Anesthesiology)

Tracy Serafini  (Medicine)

Amanda Black (OBGYN)

Alex MacKenzie (Pediatrics)

Tim Lau (Psychiatry)

Zaid Jibri (Radiology)

Jennifer Artz (Surgery)

Lisa Caulley (Otolaryngology)


Manon Denis-Leblanc (Francophone Affairs)

Faranak Vahid-Ansari (Post-Doc)

Damian Chwastek (Grad)

David Jung (TMM)

Nacera Hanzal (UGME)

Ariba Shah (Resident)

Awards Committee Terms of Reference (pdf, 43.41 KB)

Back to top