Postgraduate Education

Two surgeons standing next to each other operating on a patient.

Values: clinical excellence, research development, and surgical expertise.

The Department of Surgery postgraduate education has >100 residents and fellows enrolled in its program. There are 10 training programs including the Divisions of: General Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery, Urology, Thoracic Surgery, Neurosurgery, Cardiac Surgery, Plastic Surgery, Colorectal Surgery, Vascular Surgery and Pediatric General Surgery.

The exemplary surgical postgraduate specialties at the University of Ottawa are taught at the three campuses of The Ottawa Hospital.

The Core Surgery Educational Program is complemented by the opening in 2011 of state of the art University of Ottawa Skills and Simulation Center, making the Department of Surgery a leader in both simulation and medical education.

Select a division to view more on divisional postgraduate education:

Back to top