2021 Honorary Co-Presidents

Picture of Dr. Lina Shoppoff

Lina Shoppoff, MD, CCMF
Assistant Professor
Department of Family Medicine
Faculty of Medicine

Lina Shoppoff is from Northern Ontario. She graduated in medicine from the University of Ottawa in 2009 where she received the André Péloquin Memorial Award for her dedication to her patients. She completed her residency training in family medicine in 2011. She currently practices at the Eastern Ottawa Community Family Health Team Clinic. She is also the director of undergraduate medical education at the Department of Family Medicine, director of interprofessionalism and community service learning and the director of SIM in the Francophone stream. She teaches and supervises medical students across all four years. She received Awards in Education for Leadership competency and Health Advocate competency.







Picture of Dr. Melissa Forgie

Melissa Forgie, MD, FRCPC, MSc, ICD.D
Full Professor
Departement of Medicine, Haematology
Vice-Dean, UGME
Faculty of Medicine

Dr. Forgie is a graduate of the University of Ottawa’s medical school and has Royal College specializations in internal medicine and in hematology. She has a fellowship in thromboembolic disorders. She has a Master’s in clinical epidemiology, an ICD.D designation, and is a clinician investigator with the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute. She has publications in a wide array of prestigious journals such as the New England Journal of Medicine and Nature and continues to publish in her area of clinical expertise. She is an active investigator in a number of both peer and industry funded clinical trials.

She was previously Residency Program Director for the University of Ottawa’s hematology training program. Her clinical practice specializes in thromboembolic diseases.

Dr. Forgie is now Vice-Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education, at the University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine. Prior to this, she was Assistant Dean, Student Affairs as well as the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC) National Co-Chair for Student Affairs and AFMC National Vice-chair for Undergraduate Medical Education.

Dr. Forgie teaches in both the Anglophone and Francophone streams of the undergraduate medical education program. She has received Faculty awards for her teaching in both languages.

She has also received numerous patient care awards and is a 2009 recipient of the Ottawa Hospital Physician Recognition Award. She is currently one of the most highly awarded physicians at The Ottawa Hospital.

In her capacity as Vice-Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education, she has received international recognition for her advocacy for and assessment of the learning environment. She developed a program for social accountability for the MD Program, which encompasses humanities, community service learning, global health, leadership and social determinants of health sub programs.

She is an invited member of the International Women’s Forum, which features women world leaders who have broken through barriers and achieved recognition for their leadership.

In November 2015, she was awarded the Jeff Turnbull Healthcare Advocacy Award.

She was appointed to the Board of Trustees for the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario in 2015, to the Ashbury College Board of Governors in 2016 and appointed Vice Chair in 2020. In 2020, she was appointed to the Board of Governors of the Youth Services Bureau of Ottawa.

Back to top