UGME Executive Committees

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UCC)

The Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UCC) is responsible to:

  1. Ensure that the curriculum reflects educational objectives for the undergraduate medical program;
  2. Provide central oversight of the overall design, management and evaluation of a coherent and coordinated curriculum;
  3. Develop methods to evaluate the quality of teaching and tutorial supervision by professors and tutors, consistent with University policy;
  4. Analyze aggregate student evaluations from the Student Promotion Executive Committee on a regular basis;
  5. Analyze aggregate faculty evaluations from all components of the curriculum on a yearly basis;
  6. Receive program evaluations of all components of the curriculum on a yearly basis;
  7. Make recommendations to Faculty Council regarding the curriculum and evaluation.

The UCC shall be composed of:

  1. Vice-Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education (UGME) (Chair)
  2. Vice-Dean, Francophone Affairs
  3. Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
  4. Assistant Dean, Admissions
  5. Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
  6. Chair or co-chairs of the UCC subcommittees
  7. Director, Curriculum
  8. Director, Social Accountability
  9. Director, Indigenous Program
  10. Director, Distributed Medical Education
  11. Director, iMed
  12. Director, Professionalism or designate
  13. Director, Accreditation
  14. Eleven (11) students: one Francophone and one Anglophone from each year, the Junior and Senior Vice-Presidents of Academic Affairs of the Aesculapian Society, and the Assistant Junior Vice-President of Academic Affairs
  15. Two (2) graduates from the University of Ottawa MD Program within two years of graduation, one from Family Medicine and one from another specialty, nominated by the Vice-Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education for a two (2) year term (non-voting members)
  16. One (1) UGME representative from each department (non-voting member)
  17. Director, Health Sciences Library (non-voting member)
  18. Director, UGME (non-voting member)
  19. Manager, Information Technology (non-voting member)
  20. Supervisor of Academic Services and Project Manager, UGME (non-voting member)
  21. Supervisor of Academic Services in Preclerkship, UGME (non-voting member)
  22. Supervisor of Academic Services in Clerkship, UGME (non-voting member)
  23. Assistant to the Vice-Dean, UGME (non-voting member, providing administrative support)

The quorum shall consist of one third of the voting members.


Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
Revised Approval Date:February 4, 2016

Faculty Council
Revised Approval Date:March 15, 2016

Back to top